technogasm128

Updates on the latest gadgets, gizmos and games

My Top 3 MMORPG’s – Number 1

One

Finally it’s time for my Number One MMORPG and it has to be one of the most popular, if not the most popular PC game of all time. World of Warcraft is said to have over 10 million players, with people owning multiple characters meaning that number is considerably higher. I began to play the game just before the release of Wrath of the Lich King, arguably my favourite expansion due to the new Death Knight class and then continued to play during the release of Cataclysm. I haven’t consistently played the game in the last year, so everything my opinion is based on is around the game play I have experienced.

WoW, like Last Chaos, has a huge community which means you rarely go 5 minutes without seeing another user controlled character. Added to this is the fact that different servers are linked so that completing dungeons, raids and more recently quests can be achieved with players from a variety of other servers. As far as I know this ‘perk’ is unique to WoW, and it means that you can play with friends without the need to transfer you character (one of many additional paid features Blizzard offers). Another positive of WoW is the vast amount of character customisation, such as Race, Gender, Class and Appearance. MMORPG’s seem to be split between fully customisable character or generic templates which can only differ with gear and I’ve always preferred the first. The appearance of armour is also on a par with Last Chaos in design, with some amazing and creative ideas which allows every character to differ from one another.

Like all items in the technology and gaming world, everything has it negative sides including World of Warcraft, but the main difference here is that I can only name one. WoW is a pay-to-play MMORPG, differentiating from the previous two games but this isn’t completely negative. You have to pay £8.99 per month for a whole range of advantages, so you know where your money is going. Saying that, you could almost be certain that if they took away the subscription fee they would generate 5x the amount of popularity they have at the moment, so that’s always a possible improvement.

If I still had the time and money to play World of Warcraft I would, they make constant changes and updates to the game to keep there fan base playing, some which I’ve not yet experienced. I know I’m not the only one who has these opinions, I think the quantity of players Blizzard has suggests the same. WoW is certainly one of the best games I have ever played and I doubt that will change anytime soon.

My Rating – 9.5/10

Pros:

  • Hugely customisable characters
  • Excellent support/ticketing system
  • Always improving updates/gameplay
  • Features such as Recruit a Friend or Scroll of Resurrection
  • 100’s of servers to reduce language issues (Russian, French, Spanish, English etc)
  • Cons:

  • Pay-to-play (not all bad)
  • Thanks for reading!

    One comment on “My Top 3 MMORPG’s – Number 1

    1. Pingback: Rediscovering an MMO: SWTOR | Origen Studios

    Leave a Reply

        Information

    This entry was posted on April 8, 2013 by in Blizzard, Expansions, Games, Mac, MMORPG, Pay-to-play, PC, Subscription, Warcraft, World of Warcraft, WoW.

    Most Viewed

    Categories

